top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Carver

My Fear of Restaurants

What is your biggest fear? One question that people are asked a lot. I used to answer with I am afraid of fish, getting stuck on a boat, being burned by fireworks, I have a fear of rejection, and I have a fear of the unknown. While these fears are all true and some are fears that others could agree with, there is one fear that I have that most would not understand. Now, if you have an autoimmune disease or other serious health issues you could probably synthesize with this fear. The fear of eating out at a restaurant, other peoples house, or food in general.

Going out to eat is a fun thing to do with family and friends. Going to the movies and getting popcorn and treats or trying new foods at the State Fair is enjoyable for most. It is easy to drive through and order fast food after a game or when you’re out running errands. However, for me, or those like me, it is not always enjoyable. In fact, it is more of a frustration and a fear. Not because I can’t eat the things others are eating, but because I can’t go out and actually enjoy them with friends and family without the anxiety that comes with it. I don’t like the feeling of holding others back from eating what they like, going where they want, or trying different things just because I am with and can’t do the same.

Restaurants stress me out more than almost anything. It falls under my fear of the unknown. You mean, I have to trust the chef in the back with what I am about to eat?! That is scary! I don’t know what they are doing back there, what they have touched, or how they have prepared my food. Not only that, but most people do not take you seriously when you say you cannot have anything crossed with wheat, barley, or rye due to the many people who say that they are on the gluten free fad diet.

Some believe that going gluten free will help them shed some weight. I have heard “Oh, I feel you. I’m doing that Whole 30 diet” more than once. I think it's great that you are trying to lose weight, but diets are a choice. You can cheat on a diet. If you cheat on an autoimmune disease you could end up with more health issues, such as diabetes, infertility, or intestinal cancer. I am not on a diet, but I could actually die if I eat it! A gluten free cookie is still a cookie. A gluten free diet is not a weight loss diet.

Unfortunately, most restaurants are not educated on Celiac Disease. What most do not realize is shared cooking space is cross contamination waiting to happen, which is every celiac’s nightmare. On top of that, many restaurants don’t realize that French fries are gluten free until you cook them in a fryer with other gluten contaminated foods. Now they aren’t gluten free! Studies show that it only takes 1/64 of a teaspoon of gluten to cause intestinal damage.

If you have an autoimmune disease you ask the restaurant staff a billion questions before you even think about eating their food. It’s not because we want to, its because we have to. I have been to many restaurants where I get eyes rolled at or they are annoyed with the questions. There is that fear of rejection. Believe me, I do not enjoy playing 20 questions every time I eat. I would much rather just choose whatever I want off of the menu. There have been many times that I have had to leave a restaurant because they claim the have gluten free, but are not safe in the cooking process. I had to walk out of a restaurant just last weekend due to this. It’s more frustrating for me than it is for you. Most people think that it’s not that big of a deal, you’ll just have a stomach ache. Not true. Have you ever had food poisoning or the stomach flu? I have too. It’s like 10x’s worse than that.

There are a few restaurants out there that I go to regularly, like Chick-fil-A, Matt’s Rancho Martinez, BJ’s Brewhouse, Red Robin, and Zoes Kitchen. However, there is still a 50/50 chance of getting Glutened even at a restaurant I have been to many times before. Any other restaurant is a guessing game.

It is also hard for me to go to parties at peoples houses or be invited to join them for family dinners. Why? Because I can’t just eat anything. I feel horrible when I have to ask what seasonings did you put in your tacos? Did you place that bun on the grill as well? Did you use a wooden spoon to stir that or the same utensil to pick up that tortilla? Did you use this knife to spread butter on your bread? These are things that I have to think about when eating that others do not. I don’t blame them, they should not have to use a million bowls and spoons to cook. However, in order to keep me from being on the couch for a week or so, I do have to ask these questions.

What I have learned through this is that God wants us to fellowship with others, even when you can’t join in on the food side of things. Food is not what is important. It is spending time and serving others. So when I am asked to come over for food and fellowship, believe me when I say it’s just easier to go and not eat or to bring my own food. If you have friends that can’t eat what you cook or where you want to go, don’t not include them. Invite them to tag along with you. Let the decision to go be in their hands.


Here are some tips when eating out:

Call the restaurant ahead of time and ask questions such as:

  • Do you have a gluten free menu?

  • How are you with cross contamination?

  • Do you use the same pans and utensils?

  • Do you clean the grill or use a separate one for gluten free items?

  • Do you have a dedicated fryer?

Inform the wait staff

  • Let them know you have celiac


ac and explain what it is.

  • If they don't seem to understand don't risk it.

Play 20 questions with the waiter or manager.

  • Are their croutons on the salad?

  • Does the salad dressing contain gluten?

  • Does the soup contain flour or barley?

  • Has the meat been marinated?

  • Does the french fries share a fryer with other breaded food?

  • Does your eggs have pancake batter in them?

  • Did it share a toaster with gluten contained food?

Go straight to the manager

  • Managers know more than the waiters do.

  • Ask a billion questions.

When in doubt, don’t eat!

  • If you do not feel comfortable with the restaurant or their answers, skip the meal.


55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page